Sense and Sensibility Audiobook

Sense and Sensibility Audiobook cover

Sense and Sensibility

Unabridged Audiobook

By: Jane Austen

Narrated by: Mark F. Smith

Published: 2008-03-13

Duration: 11 hours 3 minutes



Download at

Sense and Sensibility Summary

This is a story of the English moneyed class and its eternal struggle for creating “sense and sensibility” in its world. A potential marriage prospect must make “sense” by bringing with it enough assets and income to permit the couple to continue to live in happy, idle leisure, complete with servants and a prestigious address. Provided one can find such a match among the eligible persons of the opposite sex, one then hopes for “sensibility”, or capacity for emotion, so that if love is not immediately to hand, it might come around later. And while these gentlemen and ladies make their hopeful pirouettes in the social eye, they must of course adhere to all the forms of civility.

Jane Austen writes of the family of a gentleman named Dashwood who dies and leaves most of his fortune to his son, with the understanding that he will “look out for” his mother and three sisters. When that son marries a grasping woman who convinces him that his sisters’ funds are suitable to their needs and so require no contributions from his inherited fortune, the sisters are left to play the game of “Sense and Sensibility” in earnest.

But all’s not fair in love. Carefully prepared “attachments” can and do go awry when gentlemen find other young women of greater fortunes than the Dashwood sisters. So, will they marry for love? Or money? Or perhaps, not at all?


Who wrote Sense and Sensibility?

Sense and Sensibility was written by Jane Austen.

Who narrates Sense and Sensibility Audiobook?

This edition of Sense and Sensibility Audiobook is narrated by Mark F. Smith.

Sense and Sensibility Audiobook length

Sense and Sensibility Audiobook length is 11 hours 3 minutes. That's 39780 seconds long!

What characters are in Sense and Sensibility?

Sense and Sensibility contains the following characters:

  • Elinor Dashwood
  • Marianne Dashwood
  • Mrs. Jennings
  • Edward Ferrars
  • Colonel Brandon
  • Lady Middleton
  • Sir John Middleton
  • John Dashwood
  • Fanny Dashwood
  • Mrs. Dashwood
  • John Willoughby
  • Margaret Dashwood
  • Robert Ferrars
  • Anne Steele
  • Lucy Steele

What year was Sense and Sensibility first published?

Sense and Sensibility was first published in the year 1811. That makes it 212 years old today!